Manufacturing Students at work

At UWTSD, we work in partnership with Industrial experts and Professionals to enhance our offer of learning opportunities for both students and staff. Recognising individuals within industry through our Honorary Professors of Practice award is one way that we secure avenues for knowledge and skills sharing.

Professor of Practice framework

Our Honorary Professor of Practice framework offers opportunities for Professional and Industrial experts to pass on their subject knowledge to our students and ‘give back’ back to the communities they serve.

It is not a remunerated position, but it is an opportunity to make a difference in our students’ journey and transform lives. Our Professor of Practice contribution enables students and staff to learn, grow and ‘pay it forward’ to the community.

Honorary Professors of Practice are nominated by a senior member (Dean or above) of the University staff.  The nomination follows a thorough scrutiny process that ensures appropriate standards are upheld in appointing the nominee for the Professor of Practice role.

Our current bank of Professors of Practice covers many aspects of the strategic work, and their representation is specifically aligned with the University’s strategic priorities.

List of Current Honorary Professors of Practice
No: Title First Name Surname Institute / Profession Service
1 Professor Wang Aimin VC's Office
2 Dr Abdulraham Alzaagy IEH
3 Professor Neil Barron WISA
4 Sir Peter Blake WISA
5 Dr Scott Boldt VC's Office
6 Mr Paul Byard WISA
7 Professor David Cadman IEH
8 Mr Andrew Campbell IMH
9 Mr Ian Cooper WISA
10 Mr John Darlington IEH
11 Ms Juliet Davenport IEH
12 Dr Chris Davies WISA
13 Ms Nicola Davies WISA
14 Mr Peter Davies IEH
15 Professor Wendy Dearing WISA
16 Revd Dr Jeremy Duff IEH
17 Mr Richard Dunne VC's Office
18 Mr John Edwards WISA
19 Mr Mark Eley WISA
20 Mr Alan Ereira IEH
21 Mr Paul Everson IEH
22 Dr Brian Gannon WISA
23 Dr Richard Granville WISA
24 Mr Andrew Griffiths IMH
25 Dr Hazel Hagger IEH
26 Dr Rhydian Harries WISA
27 Mr Christopher Hawker IMH
28 Professor Louise Hayward IEH
29 Ms Deborah Heenan IMH
30 Mr Chris Hopkins WISA 
31 Mr John Iley WISA
32 Ms Lisa Isherwood IEH
33 Professor Uzo Iwobi OBE IMH
34 Mr Tony Juniper IEH
35 Mr Saleem Asghar Kidwai OBE IEH
36 Mr Maldwyn Lloyd Pope WISA
37 Professor Jan Koen Lomans WISA
38 Mr Chris Loyn WISA
39 Ms Karen MacKinnon WISA
40 Mr Steve Moore IMH
41 Dr Dennis O'Neill IEH
42 Dr Nicholas Ossei-Gerning WISA
43 Professor Stephen Palmer IMH
44 Dr Neil Pearson WISA
45 Mr Peter Polydor FBM
46 Dr Daryl Powell WISA
47 Mr Mark Rees WISA
48 Mr John Sauven IEH
49 Ms Jenni Spencer-Davies WISA
50 Professor Peter Stevens WISA
51 Mr Edward Thomas WISA
52 Mr Mark Thomas WISA
53 Ms Helen Thomas IMH
54 Professor Meena Upadhyaya IMH
55 Mr Michael John Waters IEH
56 Ms Jan White IEH
57 Mr Julian Williams IMH
58 Mr Roger Williams WISA
59 MBE Kim Ann Williamson IMH
60 Ms Jen Wilson WISA
61 Emeritus Professor John Wood WISA
62 Mr Simon Wright WISA
63 Dr Nianbo Wu IEH

Nomination Pack

If the nomination is successful, candidates will receive formal confirmation along with a certificate. All Professors of Practice are allocated a liaison officer to support their time with the University. Over the initial three-year term, Professors of Practice will be expected to complete a minimum of three engagement opportunities per year as part of the role. The dedicated liaison officer will help plan this to maximise impact.