AHRC | Collaborative Doctoral Training Centre in the Celtic Languages

The new collaborative Doctoral Training Centre in the Celtic Languages is funded by the Arts and Humanities Research Council for the period 2014-19, and will manage over that period doctoral scholarships and training programmes in Celtic Languages, Literatures and Cultures. A consortium of 12 higher education organisations across the UK will award doctoral studentships and support the training of students in a new, collaborative fashion.

The Consortium Members are the universities of Aberdeen, Bangor, Cambridge, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Oxford, Swansea, Queens University Belfast, the University of Ulster, the University of the Highlands and Islands/Sabhal Mòr Ostaig, the University of Wales Trinity Saint David, and the University of Wales Centre for Advanced Welsh and Celtic Studies; the Centre is managed by the University of Glasgow.

Part of the Centre’s activities will be training programmes in Celtic languages, literatures and cultures, and students will be enabled in an unprecedented way to partake of shared supervision and resources across these universities, and to engage with partners outside the higher education sector. The consortium will be aided in this by three core partners, BBC Northern Ireland, Bòrd na Gàidhlig, and the National Library of Wales.

If you are interested in applying you should also speak to prospective supervisors in the School of Welsh and Bilingual Studies to discuss your interests. Contact:

Professor Jane Cartwright
01570 424870

Dr Christine Jones
01570 424931  /  01267 676774