Ethics Committee

The Ethics Committee is responsible for determining the ethical acceptability or otherwise of proposals for University research projects, and projects for research degree programmes or postgraduate taught programmes, and for advising accordingly. It is a sub-committee of the Research Committee.


  • The Chair of the Research Degrees Committee or nominee (Chair)
  • Maximum of two representatives from each Faculty

Current Members (2017-18):

  • Professor Jill Venus (Chair)
  • Dr Matt Briggs (RIES)
  • Dr Stuart Jones and Dr Caroline Lohmann-Hancock (FEC)
  • Associate Professor Christopher House (FACE)
  • Dr Rebekah Humphreys (FHPA)
  • Dr Christine Davies and Dr Annette Fillery-Travis (FBM)
  • Dr Julia Lockheart (FAD) 

Terms of Reference

The Terms of Reference for the Committee can be found in Chapter 2 of the Academic Quality Handbook (AQH) 2017-18. 

  1. To provide advice and guidance on established and evolving ethical issues and contribute to ethical awareness and training;
  2. To ensure that a Faculty’s procedures for dealing with ethical issues raised by staff or student research are appropriate, and to monitor their effective and consistent implementation;
  3. To consult whatever evidence and opinions it considers appropriate to ensure that decisions relating to approval of ethical aspects of research methods are based solely on ethical grounds;
  4. To provide written approval for all relevant University research projects or research degree programme proposals with conditions or requirements where appropriate, or to provide written refusal with justification;
  5. To receive regular reports from Faculties on ethical issues and to make recommendations in relation to ethical issues;
  6. To consider and provide formal responses to cases referred to it in response to requests from Faculties;
  7. To report annually to the Research Committee and Research Degrees Committee on actions taken and decisions made during the preceding year.


  • 2017/18 academic year meeting are currently scheduled for 25 October 2017 (Carmarthen), 6 February 2018 (Swansea) and 20 June 2018 (Lampeter)
  • E-Cycle meetings scheduled for:
    • 18 September 2017
    • 24 October 2017
    • 20 November 2017
    • 11 December 2017
    • 17 January 2018
    • 26 February 2018
    • 21 March 2018
    • 25 April 2018
    • 16 May 2018
    • 6 June 2018
    • 4 July 2018
    • 6 August 2018

The Ethics Committee is serviced by Elizabeth Cook (Academic Office). To make an application, or request further information, please contact her on

Any applications or papers to be considered must be fully completed and submitted no later than 5 working days prior to the meeting date.

The Ethics Committee is chaired by Professor Jill Venus. If you require further information about matters pertaining to research integrity, or to discuss concerns in confidence, please contact her on